2019 Mecklenburg County Medical Society Board of Directors


Elizabeth B. Moran, MD
Premier Gynecology and Wellness
Obstetrics and Gynecology

John R. Allbert, MD
Novant Health Maternal-Fetal Medicine Associates
Maternal-Fetal Medicine

Babak Mokari, DO
Healing Arts Medical
Integrative Medicine

Immediate Past President
Scott L. Furney, MD
Carolinas Medical Center Department of Internal Medicine
Internal Medicine


Sarah M. Edwards, MD
Mid-Atlantic Emergency Medical Associates
Emergency Medicine

E. Carl Fisher, Jr., MD
Metrolina Nephrology Associates

Jane S. Harrell, MD
H3 Healthcare
Internal Medicine

Kate E. Long, MD
Wellness Coalition America
Family Medicine

B. Lauren Paton, MD
Carolinas Medical Center Department of General Surgery
General Surgery

Bennal M. Perkins, MD
Carolinas Medical Center Department of Internal Medicine
Internal Medicine


Patricia K. Roddey, MD
Tryon Medical Partners

Anna T. Schmelzer, MD
Charlotte Pediatric Clinic

Andrew I. Sumich, MD
Carolina Neurosurgery & Spine Associates
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

G. Bernard Taylor, MD
Carolinas Medical Center Department of OB/GYN Urogynecology

Physician Assistant Representative:
Raymond E. Brown, PA
Charlotte Eye Ear Nose and Throat Associates

Resident Representatives:
To Be Determined

Ex-Officio Board Members

Tracei Ball, MD
President, Charlotte Medical Dental & Pharmaceutical Society
OnCall Mobile Medical & Wellness
Addiction Medicine

Sandi D. Buchanan
Executive Director, Mecklenburg County Medical Society

Darlyne Menscer, MD
NCMS Delegate to the AMA
Chair of the NCMS Committee on Medical Education
Geriatric Medicine

Meg Sullivan, MD
Medical Director, Mecklenburg County Health Department

Douglas R. Swanson, MD, FACEP
Medical Director, Mecklenburg EMS Agency
Emergency Medicine